MLibrary Instructor College

An online forum for University of Michigan Library instructors

Introducing the 2011-2012 Instructor College Steering Committee

leave a comment »

We would like to introduce to you the members of the 2011/2012 Instructor College Steering Committee

Beau Case

Beau Case

The first instruction session I taught was for the old, blue-screen, ASCII, dot-command-driven Lexis-Nexis in 1992. The class was packed–with faculty! Since then I mostly have taught BI to undergraduate and graduate students in the arts, humanities, and area studies. In 1998, I took my BI skills overseas, teaching in the Republic of Moldova. Despite this broad and long experience, I am still learning–learning how to be a better instructor and learning from my colleagues. This is why I am proud to be a part of Instructor College.

Sigrid Cordell

Sigrid Cordell

Helping students and faculty navigate the rich (but sometimes overwhelming) resources that are available is one of my favorite parts of librarianship. At the same time, one of the challenges can be pitching a set of research strategies to a classroom full of researchers working on wildly varying projects. Before coming to the library, I spent many years teaching literature and composition; as a new librarian, I am excited to be part of Instructor College and to have the opportunity to work closely with other librarians who are engaged in instruction across campus.

Paul Grochowski

Paul Grochowski

I’m pleased to serve with the Instructor College Steering Committee. In my seven years of library instruction, I’ve found Instructor College events and initiatives like Lesson Study to be great opportunities to learn from and share with my colleagues. I hope to add to this year’s programming from my perspective of library instruction in the College of Engineering.

Angie Oehrli

Angie Oehrli, Chair

As a former high school and middle school social studies/English teacher, I am really interested in the instructional efforts here at UM. I think it’s really important that we educate students to be information-literate citizens. I look forward to working with librarians during the coming year in the Instructor College.

Laurie Sutch

Laurie Sutch

One of my favorite aspects of being an instructor is interacting with so many different people. People come in at a variety levels and with so many different needs that it is engaging for me to try to meet as many needs as possible – it keeps those workshops I do over and over and over again more interesting!

Whitney Townsend

Whitney Townsend

I am excited to return to the Instructor College Steering Committee this year. In my position as a liaison services librarian at the Taubman Health Sciences Library I share primary instruction responsibilities in medical education as well as teaching sessions for my assigned departments in the Health System. I am looking forward to sharing my experience and excitement for teaching with this year’s Instructor College!

Ataul Usman

Ataul Usman

I joined Library HR in February 2010. I come to the Library from the Human Resources office at the UM-Dearborn campus, where I have served as an HR Administration Supervisor, providing training, recruitment guidance, benefits administration and support for the M-Pathways HR management system to unit HR representatives across the Dearborn campus. I am responsible for the day-to-day administration of policies and programs covering Library staff recruitment and appointment activities, as well as administration of our staff orientation and development program.

Ellen Wilson

Ellen Wilson

As a recent newcomer to the library, engaging in the many ways librarians reach out to our community is something I hope to learn from. An integral part of successful instruction is the resources our librarians source to broaden their skills and further strengthen their professional growth. Along with my colleagues in the Instructor College, I look forward to developing programs and creating resources to promote their instructional abilities.

We look forward to crafting meaningful programs and services to support instructors in the UM Libraries. Please feel free to share your ideas here on the blog or contact us.

Written by Instructor College

November 2, 2011 at 3:47 pm

Posted in ICSC

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

